From 589 pounds to 220 pounds. This is my journey. Welcome to the countdown.

It’s Monday!

Every week the goal is lose 5 pounds. It starts the minute I get off the scale on Monday to when I get on the scale the following Monday. There are no excuses.

Vacation–no excuse.

Moms’ b-day–no excuse

Office holiday part–well you get the idea.

So beyond the death of the weekend and back to work, Monday holds yet another meaning. It tells me whether this week was a success or failure. For the majority of the time, it’s been a success. Some weeks the difference between success and failure comes down to two words:

dry sauna

Now I’m not saying this is a good idea for everyone. Nor is this in the place of a proper diet and exercise. But maybe you went out two days ago and had prime rib. That extra sodium isn’t leaving on its own. Not if you want to make weight by Monday. Hell, I’m almost positive the reason the dry sauna exists was so there was an easy way to get rid of the sodium from Chinese Food!

So once in a while, if the scale says 346 and I need to be at 345–yes, the dry sauna is my ally.

Monday is also usually a possible cheat day. If I’m going eat something that I’ll regret later then Monday is the day. It also gives me a pretty good idea of how things are going. For example…

Ten days before Thanksgiving, I was 342 pounds. Since that time, I’ve bounced around in the 340s. I was supposed to be at 335 this morning. I was 339. That makes over a month of weigh-ins that I’ve not made it. I could use the holidays as an excuse–most would. But again–no excuses.

All of this is the primer because starting next week, every Monday will be a weight with the good, bad, and ugly of it all. While I’m glad people have enjoyed the previous posts, it will be this weekly post on Monday which will be the most telling. The one which truly shows where we are with the countdown. I should come up with a clever name but I don’t have it–yet.

So as of today, I’m 339. Next week the goal is 334. It’s 119 pounds from the goal.

Look forward to giving you all good news next Monday.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

