From 589 pounds to 220 pounds. This is my journey. Welcome to the countdown.

The Countdown 3/24/14

Last Week: 324

This Week: 317 (GOAL ACCOMPLISHED!!!)

Next week’s goal: 313

Magic Number to 220: 97 lbs.

Lost since Nov 2012 (561.8 lbs): 226 lbs

Lost Since Nov 2011 (561.8 lbs): 244.8 lbs

Highest ever weight recorded/known: 589 (difference of 272 lbs)

 

Honestly I didn’t think I’d make this week. On Sunday morning, I was 321. I kept saying it might be 320 because I had on heavier sweats. Still I was 2-3 pounds from goal. For reasons I can’t explain now, this week I needed to make it–more than any other time in a long time. Somehow I needed to be at 318 on Monday morning. 

It resulted in a maybe 1200 calorie day, 3 trips to the dry sauna, pilates, WERQ class, and 30 minutes in zones 1 and 2 for heat rate on a treadmill. And really I didn’t think I’d make it. I even woke up at 6am to run in the gym AND hit the sauna again before weigh in. 

But before I did any of it…

317. 

I should have known I’d make it. The last time I was in a scenario like this I didn’t think I’d made it that day either. Unlike the last few weeks, it was a clean week. Most of it at home. Not a lot of other aspects of life creeping in. Except that everyone’s eyes were on me this week. My trainers, bosses, family–everybody seems to be watching. I was this week’s main event under the big top that’s for sure. I wish I could explain it more but for now just know there was a lot of pressure and peering eyes. 

I can also tell you that had I missed things would been different. This blog post would have been different. Heck, this entire posting so far would make far more sense if I missed 318. 

But I didn’t. 

Still, a week like this can change a person. It became clear that less is more. A hardcore zone workout trumps 10K in steps. Don’t get me wrong, I still believe in steps but the 60-90 minute treadmill days–unless going to for endurance and distance are going to be phased out. An hour running in the pool with weights beats a treadmill any day. It’s also clear that even when I’m clean, one day–a day that wasn’t even close to being bad, can throw off everything. 

Okay enough of this talk and now to the positive…

I am now 97 pounds from goal. 

That’s two digits not three!!!!

We’ve officially hit the home stretch. Yeah the exit ramp is still pretty far but I finally see signs for my exit. 

Exit 220. 

It won’t be a milestone most will notice. My guess is the only way anyone will know is if I bring it up or see this blog. So quietly I smile and a small tear runs down my cheek. The end of journey is coming and everyday brings me closer. Closer to that number.

220.

This week presents new challenges. It’s the last with my trainer Matt which means all new workouts, strategies come next Monday. It also means a new place to weigh in. Goodbye men’s locker room, hello main scale on the 2nd floor! Further, it’s possible this past weeks challenges and possible dangers may linger further into the next few weeks. 

It’s not going to be easy–but it never is. 

But I do know this: I’m not quitting, giving up, or going down without a fight. I’m going to win this battle and the war. 

313 for next week–book it.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

