From 589 pounds to 220 pounds. This is my journey. Welcome to the countdown.

The Countdown 3/31/14

Last Week: 317

This Week: 313 (GOAL ACCOMPLISHED!!!)

Next week’s goal: 308

Magic Number to 220: 93 lbs.

Lost since Nov 2012 (543 lbs): 230 lbs

Lost Since Nov 2011 (561.8 lbs): 248.8 lbs

Highest ever weight recorded/known: 589 (difference of 276 lbs)

 

I honestly didn’t think I’d make this one. Seriously, the last minute heroics needed of late have been nuts!

On Sunday I was at 316–3 pounds from goal.

Sunday turned into the following:

8am — Water Fitness Class

9am: 30 minutes in the dry sauna

9:45: Protein Shake

10am: WERQ class for an hour

11am:  Protein Shake and bottle of smart water

Noon: Dry Sauna

 12:45: 2.75 miles on the treadmill–heart rate zones 1 and 2.

2PM: Dry Sauna

3PM: Walked in the park for an hour. 

4PM: Piece of Chicken and Kale Salad from Whole Foods

5PM: Meeting friends

6PM: cup of turkey chili, spinach power salad, and apple

Almost 22K in steps and 1500-1700 calories for the day. Oh and Monday morning before weigh-in I did a 10 minute walk and 13 minutes in the dry sauna. Honestly most of the week I felt I kept things pretty clean. A few missteps but nothing where I’d not Sunday heroics. 

I did cut my step count back. I still question the need versus a real workout but I may have to rethink it. It’s also clear I have little margin for error now. Things I used to look at as minor and now major. I cleaned up quite a bit the last few weeks on cheese and bread. Hell, went to TGI Fridays and ordered a grilled chicken breast and salad with balsamic–no cheese or croutons either!

My error?

We got comp’ed chips and salsa. I lost count after 10 chips. But still, not like I don’t lose or a gain a pound kind of eating there. My crutch in the morning has been a small cup of peanut butter. And when I say small I mean like 2-4 table spoons worth. But honestly if I gave that up I’m not sure how long I’d last. No bread, cheese, or peanut butter and I’ll suddenly want things like oh…pasta, Chinese food, Chicken Parm, and a Big Mac.

No, peanut butter and Lifetime Fitness Baked Chicken Fingers are about my guilty pleasures now because otherwise it could be a lot worse. 

As I’ve mentioned before, the countdown will now be different. Lauren will now play the part of Matt. Okay the mental image of Matt with boobs is creeping me out. Or is it Lauren looking far more buff that makes me cringe? Yes, I will miss Matt–I already do. But I know Lauren and she’ll be great. Be interesting to see how things will work and be different now. 

It’s been two weeks straight of making goal. Been a long time since that’s happened. It pushes me closer to the next milestone:

299. 

Jeez, I can’t remember the last time I was under 300 pounds. I think it was junior high. If I make the next 3 weigh-ins it puts me at 298. But next week is going to be rough. I have a function late Saturday afternoon which will have goodies. I also know people will want to go out afterward. Sunday night is Wrestlemania and I’ve been invited over. I’ll pack accordingly but there’s no way I could pull off the last two Sunday’s this week while being out with “the guys”. 

Still, unless I screw up–which I’m prone to do, I should be under 300 pounds possible by my birthday later this month. Won’t that be one hell of a present! 

That’s all I got for this week. Be back here next week as get closer to 299 and ever so closer to 220lbs.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

